Niagara Foundation Award Ceremony in Milwaukee


October 15, 2015. Milwaukee, WI. The Niagara Foundation in Milwaukee organized an award ceremony to recognize the achievements and commitments of leaders in the city. This year, around 200 guests attended the event, among them state senators, mayors, governors business leaders as well as religious leaders. The evening included a reception, dinner and remarks from Niagara Foundation and the award recipients. The emcee of the event was Magda G. Peck, Dean of the Joseph J. Zilber School of Public Health at University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.

The Boys and Girls Club of Milwaukee received the Community Service Award. Boys & Girls Clubs of Greater Milwaukee provides safety, academic support, free meals and role models to more than 43,000 children and teens each year at 44 locations.

Hon. Justice Janine Geske, received the commitment award. Hon. Geske currently serves as a Distinguished Professor of Law at Marquette University Law School and Director of the Law School’s Restorative Justice Initiative.

Rob Shelledy, Chair of the Interfaith Conference Cabinet, received the Peace Award on behalf of The Interfaith Conference of Greater Milwaukee. The Interfaith Conference of Greater Milwaukee is a non-profit organization that build relationships, conduct interfaith programming to foster public understanding, tolerance and friendship, and work together on social justice issues.

Mark Sabljak, Publisher of Milwaukee Business Journal, received the Media Award. Mark Sabljak has been publisher of Milwaukee Business Journal since 1994 and is responsible for both the editorial and business aspects of the print and digital publishing and events company.

At the end of the program, Wisconsin State Senator Lena Taylor awarded a citation to the Niagara Foundation for its strong contributions to the community.


Comments are closed.